Nursing Fundamentals

Nurses have many roles. A nurse may be an assistant to a medical specialist or part of the surgical team of doctors on their way to an operation. But nurses have specific duties to perform, not just mere assistants. You could at least point out five of those roles a nurse has to perform on a daily basis. The fundamentals of nursing could be as complicated as its demanding work at times, but the results are always rewarding.

Assessing a Patient
As soon as the patient is housed inside the hospital, a nurse almost immediately has to perform an assessment to the patient. This initial assessment might prove valuable later on, particularly with performing a diagnosis.

Nurses, after conducting an initial assessment, could perform a simple diagnosis to their patients. A nurse might want to interview the patient further and diagnose the patient properly.

Nursing Care
Immediately after giving a simple diagnosis, a nurse has to devise a plan on how to take care of the patient. That plan though is in keeping with the assessment and its corresponding diagnosis.

Medical Intervention
If a patient is in need of further diagnosis, a nurse might be able use the services of a doctor. This will assure the patient that the initial medical attention has its confirmation with another medical staffer.

To Recap
After doing the necessary assessment and diagnosis, and providing initial medication to the patient, a nurse has the responsibility to evaluate the said patient. This evaluation would either give further medical attention or would recommend a release for the patient.

These are basically the fundamentals of nursing, the basic things that a nurse has to do in the course of his/her duty. Indeed, they have many roles, and it’s more than just assisting.

Fundamentals of Nursing: Depression, Loss and Grieving


As nursing students, you need to learn and finish the subject Fundamentals of Nursing. As part of the course, it will tackle Depression, Loss and Grieving. These subjects are very critical towards understanding patients, what they are going through when they are facing depression. Below is an overview of these subject:

Depression is one of the leading cause of death in the United States. There are a lot of depressed people all over the world. Most of them are teenagers who are victims of bullies, sexual harassment and family issues.

If you are depressed, you will experience severe sadness, disorientation and confusion. You will detach yourself in reality. You will also feel that no one understands what you are going through. In this article, we are going to discuss things about depression, loss and grieving.

In psychology, there are 5 stages of depression. There is a mnemonic called ‘DABDA’, meaning Denial, Anger, Bargaining, Depression and Anger.

First stage – Denial 

It is the stage wherein we cannot accept that fact that there is an underlying problem. It is the brain’s normal and temporary response that we detach ourselves to reality.

Second stage – Anger

Acknowledging the problem exist in this period. Meaning, we already know that there is a problem. And as a response, we show anger and we tend to blame others.

Third stage – Bargaining

This is the hardest part. We make a deal from the highest power and God. This is the stage wherein we want to delay the inevitable.

Fourth stage – Depression

In this stage, we already know that we are sad and depressed. This is the time where you can openly share your thoughts and problems to others.

Fifth stage – Acceptance

This phase is manifested by removal of grief and calmness. We have to remember that this is not a sign of happiness. It is just a sign of acceptance of the problem.


Group therapy is the best solution to depression. We can overcome sadness easily because we recognize the fact that we are not alone.